Commission on Peer Review and Accreditation

2016-17 Commission on Peer Review and Accreditation

NASPAA’s Commission on Peer Review and Accreditation (COPRA) is the Council for Higher Education Accreditation (CHEA)-recognized accreditation body for graduate degree programs in public policy, administration, and affairs, globally. 

COPRA consists of 14 members, 13 of which are academic professionals and one who is a current practitioner. Its regularly rotating membership consists of individuals with overlapping three-year terms. COPRA meets twice annually to discuss accreditation decisions and policies.

2017-18 Commission on Peer Review and Accreditation Members

Chairperson: Jeffery Osgood
NASPAA Liaison: Crystal Calarusse

Laura Bloomberg
Humphrey School of Public Affairs
University of Minnesota

Josefina BruniCelli
Professor de Planta
Instituto de Estudios Superiores de Administración

David Campbell
Chair and Associate Professor
Department of Public Administration
Binghamton University

Dana Michael Harsell
Associate Professor and MPA Director
University of North Dakota

Maja Holmes
Chair and Associate Professor
Department of Public Administration
West Virginia University

Kathrene Hansen Kin
Executive Director
Greater Los Angeles Federal Executive Board

Thomas Longoria
Professor and Director of the Center for Policy, Research, and Training
Department of Political Science
Texas State University

Associate Dean
Office of International Cooperation and Exchange
Tsinghua University

Peter Ngwafu
Director, Master of Public Administration Program
Albany State University

Jeffery Osgood
Vice Provost
Dean (interim), College of Business and Public Management
West Chester University

William Rivenbark
Professor and MPA Director
School of Government
The University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill

Christine Rush
Associate Professor
Department of Political Science and Public Administration
Mississippi State University

Ja-Eun Shin
Professor and MPP Program Chair
KDI School of Public Policy and Management

Craig Thomas
Evans School of Public Policy & Governance
University of Washington


Eligibility Committee Members

The Eligibility Committee, a three-person committee, reviews Eligibility Applications and makes recommendations to the Commission regarding the fitness of programs for the self-study process. 

NASPAA Liaison: Crystal Calarusse

Jo Ann Ewalt
Department of Political Science
College of Charleston

Jared Llorens
Public Administration Institute
Louisiana State University

Thomas Longoria*
Department of Political Science
Texas State University

*COPRA representative     

Standards Committee Members 

As per NASPAA’s Bylaws, the NASPAA Standards Committee “shall develop and maintain appropriate standards for masters programs in public affairs and administration.”  

Chandler Stolp, Chair
Associate Dean for Academic Affairs

The University of Texas at Austin

Greg Bielawski
Retired, City ManagerICMA

Shahjahan Bhuiyan
Associate Dean for Undergraduate Studies & Administration
School of Global Affairs & Public Policy
The American University in Cairo

Jonathan Breul
Adjunct Professor

Georgetown University

Sandra García Jaramillo
Profesora Asociada
Escuela de Gobierno Alberto Lleras Camargo
Universidad de los Andes

Tia Sheree Gaynor
Assistant Professor
Marist College

Renee Irvin
Associate Department Head

University of Oregon

Anthony Molina
Assistant Professor
Kent State Unviersity

William Powers
Executive Dean
School of Public Policy
University of Maryland, College Park

Christopher Reddick
Department Chair

The University of Texas at San Antonio

Debra Ringold
Atkinson School of Management
Willamette University

Ellen Shiau
Associate Professor

California State University, Los Angeles